ANZCA awards

Every year during the annual conference, ANZCA presents several awards to scholars in various categories. Descriptions of these awards is listed below. For more information and to apply, please visit the ANZCA website.


Anne Dunn Scholar of the Year Award

This award includes a $3,000 prize, supported by ANZCA and the Journalism Education and Research Association.

Grant Noble Award

This award goes to the best postgraduate paper presented at the annual conference. It includes a prize of $1,000, half of which is contributed by the University of New England, and honours Grant Noble’s pioneering work in the field of communication and his contribution to ANZCA.

Christopher Newell Award

This award, including a prize of $500, is made at the ANZCA annual conference for the best conference paper dealing with matters relating to disability and communication, or to questions of equity, diversity and social justice as they pertain to communication. It honours Christopher Newell’s work in this field.

President’s Service Award

This award is made at the sole discretion of the ANZCA president and recognises the extraordinary efforts of a particular member (not part of the senior executive, e.g. Treasurer, Secretary, President) in support of the Association in that year. It is decided and announced at the annual conference. The President’s Service Award was inaugurated in 2006 in Adelaide by Colleen Mills.

Conference bursaries

Two bursaries are available for postgraduate students or early career researchers who submit full refereed papers to the ANZCA conference. The bursary award is up to AU $1,000 per recipient to cover travel and accommodation expenses. The award also includes complimentary ANZCA membership for the conference year. All submissions are considered automatically for these bursaries and winners notified in advance of the conference to enable them to finalize travel arrangements.

Other Conference awards

The conference organizer may decide to make additional awards. Previous conferences have included: Referees’ Choice Best Paper; Peoples’ Choice Best Scholarly Contribution; and Peoples’ Choice Best Presentation. Cash prizes may be included in these awards.

Main image by Erwan Hesry via Unsplash